Brief Outline for Major Project-ECI832

As I will work on option #3 which is Personal journey into media. Along with use of social media, I want to include game-based learning in my final assignment. These days social media also provide platform for educational games and a student can earn some credits which can be use to earn a life in a game. I think this method is rewarding and will increase the motivation of student. Game-based learning or gamification is not a matter of single post. It may need well-designed posts or even a book. This is just a sneak-peak into what I will do in my major project. I will also try some use of game-elements in a non-game scenario

According to me, Game-based learning triggers the emotions of a student that help in the motivation. Gamification is stepping out of the comfort zone that triggers the cognitive process which the help of quizzes and helps in adrenaline rush. It brings out emotions like happiness, joy, esteem, fulfilment and so on.

Gamification
Learning Without Gamification

Some educational gaming methods can include Gimkit, Kahoot or Blooket. I will explore these apps and will try to make its connection with use of social media in education. I will try to explain the steps to use some of these methods.

Moreover, going digital always do not have positive impacts. It too has some drawbacks. I am also planning to explain the issues related to social media and what are its limitations. Also, not everyone gets the advantage of using digital tools in education as there are lack of resources and knowledge.

Hoping to cover each aspect in my major project.

5 Comments
  1. Great idea, Amanpreet! I am so excited to follow along with your journey because game based learning is not a strength of mine. Do your students bring their own devices?

  2. I am excited to see where this takes you. Even my adult students are fully engaged with gamification activities! I have used, and will continue to use, Kahoot and digital Escape rooms. The escape rooms that I have used have been with Biology. I confess that I found them on Teacher Pay Teacher, but they have been so much fun! Even my non-biology students took part, partnering up with Biology students.

    • Yes, Pat, I agree that students love escape rooms! Really anything gamified adds an element of fun to the learning process and can really engage students. I have started trying to use game show versions of Google Slides as reviews for concepts too, Amanpreet, and they are always well received!

  3. I love all of the ideas you have outlined here, Amanpreet! I think gamification is a great approach to teaching that makes it engaging, immersive, and fun for students. I also agree that there are limitations and drawbacks to using tech, and am glad to see that you are acknowledging this in your major project. Love that you’re still keeping things a mystery – looking forward to checking back in on your project!

  4. Amanpreet, I really like your views about Game-based learning. It surely brings fun-element to the teaching-learning process. I am looking forward to more knowledge about gamification and how we can use it in our classrooms.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *